UnixServerAdmin

Server Administration & Management

How to configure Webalizer

The Webalizer is a GPL application that generates web pages of analysis, from access and usage logs, i.e. it is web log analysis software. It is one of the most commonly used web server administration tools. It was initiated by Bradford L. Barrett in 1997. Statistics commonly reported by Webalizer include: hits; visits;  referrers; the visitors’ countries; and the amount of data downloaded. These statistics can be viewed graphically
and presented by different time frames, such as per day, hour, or month.

Hit

Each HTTP request submitted by the browser is counted as one hit. Note that HTTP requests may be submitted for non-existent content, in which case they still will be counted. For example, if one of the five image files referred by the example page mentioned above is missing,
the web server will still count six HTTP requests, but in this case, five will be marked as successful (one HTML file and four images) and one as a failed request (the missing image)

Here is steps to configure webalizer

1) Install the webalizer by yum

# yum install webalizer

2) vim /etc/httpd/conf.d/webalizer.conf

=====================================
Alias /usage /var/www/usage

#<Location /usage>
#       AllowOverride AuthConfig
#       Order allow,deny
#       Allow from all
#</Location>

<Directory “/var/www/usage”>
    AllowOverride AuthConfig
   Options Indexes FollowSymLinks Includes
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>
=====================================

3. Create .htacess file

# vim /var/www/usage/.htaccess

=====================================
AuthUserFile /etc/httpd/htpasswd
AuthName “Please provide Login Credentials”
AuthType Basic
require valid-user
=====================================

4. Restart httpd services.

# /etc/init.d/httpd restart

February 14, 2012 - Posted by | Apache, Tips & Tricks, Unix/Linux | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Exceptional post however I was wondering if you
    could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit
    more. Thank you!

    Comment by garage door repair | September 6, 2014 | Reply

  2. I think this is one of the most important information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things,
    The web site style is great, the articles is really
    nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Comment by side mount garage door opener | September 6, 2014 | Reply

  3. I am genuinely thankful to the holder of this site who has shared this enormous post at at this place.

    Comment by fix garage door opener | September 6, 2014 | Reply

  4. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

    Comment by stanley garage door opener manual | September 7, 2014 | Reply

  5. hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right
    here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this site,
    as I experienced to reload the website many times
    previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect
    your placement in google and could damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot
    more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

    Comment by garage door repair | September 9, 2014 | Reply

  6. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a
    famous blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

    Comment by garage door opener troubleshooting | September 10, 2014 | Reply

  7. I was excited to discover this web site. I wanted to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely appreciated every little bit of it
    and i also have you book-marked to see new
    information in your web site.

    Comment by garage door repair | September 25, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

